Tuesday, 21 March 2023 05:54

Zulum of Borno, Mohammed of Bauchi re-elected as governors

Rate this item
(0 votes)


INEC has declared Governor Babagana Zulum as winner of Borno State’s governorship election.

Zulum, who is the APC candidate in the election, polled 545,543 votes to defeat his closest rival, Mohammed Jajari of the PDP, who polled 82,147 votes.

INEC returning officer for the election, Jude Rabo, made the declaration in Maiduguri, the state capital.

Zulum polled the majority votes in all the 27 local government areas of the state to emerge as winner of the contest that earned him a second term of four years.

A total of 650,533 persons were accredited across the state out of which 633,646 were declared as the total valid votes.



Governor Bala Mohammed of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has been declared winner of the 18 March governorship election in Bauchi State, north-east Nigeria.

INEC said Mohammed polled 525,280 votes while his closest rival, Sadique Abubakar of the APC polled 432,272 votes.

Returning Officer, Abdulkarim Mohammed, a professor at the Federal University, Dutse, Jigawa State, announced the results on Monday.

The returning officer said that the total number of registered voters was 2,749,268 while accredited voters were 1,058,381.

Sabo added that Haliru Jika of the NNPP scored 60,496 votes, and that the total valid votes were 1,034,379, while rejected votes were 15,221 and total votes cast were 1,049,600.

Mohammed won in 15 of the 20 local government areas.



NEWSSCROLL TEAM: 'Sina Kawonise: Publisher/Editor-in-Chief; Yomi Lawal: Director/Editorial Adviser; Prof Wale Are Olaitan: Editorial Consultant; Helen Aidenojie: Advert Manager; Femi Kawonise: Head, Production & Administration; Afolabi Ajibola: IT Manager; Contact us: [email protected] Tel/WhatsApp: +234 811 395 4049
Copyright © 2015 - 2023 NewsScroll. All rights reserved.