Wednesday, 29 March 2023 03:35

Police appoint new DIG, 24 AIGs, 33 CPs, hundreds others to their next ranks. These officers got the top shots

Rate this item
(0 votes)

Police Service Commission (PSC), yesterday, approved the promotion of AIG Adeolu Egbetokun, to the rank of  Deputy Inspector General of Police (DIG). He would be representing the Southwest geopolitical zone of the country.

DIG Egbetokun will be replacing DIG Johnson Babatunde Kokumo, who retired on March 15.

A statement last night by the spokesman of the commission, Ikechukwu Ani, said the commission also approved the promotion of 24 Commissioners of Police to the next rank of Assistant Inspectors General of Police and 33 Deputy Commissioners of Police (DCPs) to substantive Commissioners of Police (CP).

The appointment and promotions were some of the highlights of the 19th Plenary Meeting of the commission, which held in Abuja on Tuesday, March 28, 2023 and presided over by commission’s acting chairman, Clara Ogunbiyi.

The commission also approved the promotion of 37 Assistant Commissioners of Police (ACPs) to Deputy Commissioners, 118 Chief Superintendents of Police (CSPs) to Assistant Commissioners, 316 Superintendents of Police to Chief Superintendents, eight Assistant Superintendents of Police to Deputy Superintendents and 61 Inspectors of Police to Assistant Superintendents 11.

The commission considered and approved the confirmation and promotion of 4,449 Assistant Superintendents of Police (ASP) 11 to the substantive  rank of Assistant Superintendents of Police, ASP 1, while also approving the promotion of other senior police officers for outstanding performance and recognition from community leaders.

Commissioners of Police promoted to the next rank of Assistant Inspectors General of Police (AIG) were Rabi Umar former CP Force Education; Mathew Akinyosola, acting AIG Police Mobile Force; Jonathan Towuru, acting AIG Zone 6, Calabar; Sylvester Abiodun Alabi, acting AIG Zone 2; Akande Sikiru Kayode, acting AIG Zone 11 Osogbo; Abimbola Adebola Shokoya; Christopher Adetokunbo Owolabi and Yusuf Chiromawa Usman, CP Workshop.

There were also Yekini Adio Ayoku, CP Kaduna state Command; Olofu Tony Adejoh CP Eastern Ports, Calabar; Aliyu Garba, Force Headquarters; Idris Dabban Dauda, CP Force Headquarters; Yusuf Ahmed Usman, CP Admin, operations, DIG Operations; Haladu Musa Ros-Amson, Acting AIG FCID, Alagbon close, Lagos; and Babatunde Babata Ishola, Director Staff College Jos.

Other were Alexander Nengi Wannang, Commandant Police Detective College Enugu; Ari Mohammed Ali, CP Delta; Mamman Sanda Umar, CP Nigerian Ports Authority, Lagos; Sadiq Idris Abubakar, CP FCT; Emeka Frank Mba; CP Ogun; Benjamin Nebolisa Okolo, CP Bayelsa Command; Oyediran Adesoye Oyeyemi, CP Ondo Command; Babaji Sunday, Commandant Police College Maiduguri and Arungwa Nwazue Udochukwu, CP DFA FIB, Force Headquarters.

Deputy Commissioners of Police promoted to Commissioners included Mohammed Bunu; Zubairu Abubakar; Fom Pam Joseph; Emuobo Fred Ekokotu; Garba Musa Yusuf; Fasuba Akinyele Olabode; Uzuegbu Kanayo; Garba Ahmed; Nemi Edwin Osigoboko Iwo; Hayatu Kaigama Ali; Nwonyi Policarp Emeka; Salman Dogo Garba; Musibau Omolabi Ajani; Dungus Ali Munguno among others.

The statement said the commissioners of police and deputies appeared for an interactive/promotion interview, a condition for their consideration for promotion, noting that, the Acting Chairman of the commission, Ogunbiyi, urged the newly promoted officers to rededicate themselves to the service of the nation.

She said the commission would continue to ensure that police promotions were regular and motivational to enhance the efficiency and effectiveness of the officers.



NEWSSCROLL TEAM: 'Sina Kawonise: Publisher/Editor-in-Chief; Prof Wale Are Olaitan: Editorial Consultant; Femi Kawonise: Head, Production & Administration; Afolabi Ajibola: IT Manager;
Contact Us: [email protected] Tel/WhatsApp: +234 811 395 4049

Copyright © 2015 - 2024 NewsScroll. All rights reserved.